Page 1 of 1

UMS 15.3 Ignore Extensions

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2026 4:50 am
by phossler
We also added the ability to ignore files based on their extensions, ...
How do I enter extensions that I don't want to display in the play list?

I have a lot of movie and music folders with cover art or other material (.jpg, .jpeg, txt, ...) that I like to keep with the main folder (usually a music album) and I' dlike to not have the picture show in the play list

Thanks

Re: UMS 15.3 Ignore Extensions

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2026 5:47 am
by mik_s
This is the setting for UMS.conf where it will ignore those extensions, but appears to apply to all shared folders

Code: Select all

# Ignored file extensions
# --------------------
# A comma-separated list of file extensions (regardless of their location) to ignore.
# Example: iso, mkv
# Default: ""
file_extensions_ignored =
I think this should be expanded so that you can set the types of files in a shared folder and ignore everything else.
I'll make that suggestion

Re: UMS 15.3 Ignore Extensions

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2026 9:53 am
by phossler
Thanks!!!

I had 2 UMS.CONF files, one in ProgramData and one in Program Files. Neither had that "file_extensions_ignored =" line

I'm wondering (guessing) that installing 15.3 didn't add the new CONF configurations????

Howerver, I uninstalled 15.3, wiped the data and program folders and re-installed. Now I have the "file_extensions_ignored =" line in C:\ProgramData\UMS\UMS.conf

There's only 1 or 2 setting I need to changs so it's not a problem, however I did save SHARED.CONF and copied it back

Re: UMS 15.3 Ignore Extensions

Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2026 1:13 pm
by mik_s
When updating it does not alter the existing UMS.conf in ProgramData as it could alter your existing settings.
I don't know if this is a rule or just done out of precaution. It's probably simpler as the default UMS.conf is a just a template.

If you set an option that had not existed in that conf before it will be appended to the end of the file in the "< Other settings saved by UMS >" section but does not add the documentation. If you had just deleted UMS.conf then a new one would be made but would be bare and only show the settings you have changed
Its only when doing a clean install that the full UMS.conf gets updated.

I could not see a GUI option for that setting so that may not have been implemented yet, but I have suggested it can be in the shared content section on a per folder basis.